seattle street style: crashing the rodarte party

Aubrie Murphy with the Mulleavy Sisters

Back in 2010, I went to a reception for Laura and Kate Mulleavy at Nordstrom in Downtown Seattle. My roommate at the time, Jenny, who produces radio segments of the NPR ilk, suggested that we go. She asked the sisters behind Rodarte questions like, “What made you want to work with white?” and I found myself staring at a little Audrey Hepburn of a doll, in a red dress.

It turns out her name was Aubrie, and oddly enough, when I later moved to Los Angeles, I ran into her one night. She had moved to Los Angeles too, barely weeks after I had, to study fashion design at one of the Los Angeles design schools. My friends and I were looking for somewhere to hang out after the bars had closed, and she led us to a building in the warehouse district where the most unbelievable scene unfolded. It must have been straight out of burning man; all I can say is it involved acrobats, hula hoopers, furry-legged creatures and people performing some kind of sexy electrocution ritual.

I asked Aubrie what advice she would have for Seattle, fashion-wise, and got the following response: “Put away the hoodies. Explore beyond the Earth-tone palette. Put away the jeans. Watch a movie with Grace Kelly. Dress to your body shape— and I don’t mean you have to be a size 2 or a size 4— just… put The North Face away until Winter!” We laughed, and then she followed it up with another thought. “Get drunk alone at home and dance in front of a mirror till you work up a sweat. Then you’ll really know more about your body and personal style.”

– Gina

3 thoughts on “seattle street style: crashing the rodarte party

  1. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I do not know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!|

Leave a Reply

